October 8-9, 2021 | Livestream
October 8-9, 2021 | Livestream

Pre-Conference Schedule

5th Annual Women’s Health Research Symposium “Health Disparities”

All times in Arizona Time Zone (MST), Mountain Daylight Time Zone (MDT), Central Daylight Time Zone (CDT), Eastern Daylight Time Zone (EDT) and Greenwich Mean Time (GMT).

Sessions are available via livestream.

Schedule and program subject to change.

WEDNESDAY, OCTOBER 6, 2021
Women’s Health Research Symposium – Day 1
11:00 MST / 12:00 MDT / 13:00 CDT / 14:00 EDT / 18:00 GMT Welcome and Introduction
Stacey Winham, PhD
Shannon Laughlin-Tommaso, MD
Kejal Kantarci, MD
Stephanie Faubion, MD
11:05 / 12:05 / 13:05 / 14:05 / 18:05 Keynote
Sex and Gender-based Research and COVID-19
Alyson McGregor, MD
11:45 / 12:45 / 13:45 / 14:45 / 18:45 Q & A
Moderated by
Stacey Winham, PhD
Shannon Laughlin-Tommaso, MD
11:55 / 12:55 / 13:55 / 14:55 / 18:55 Panel Discussion
Sex Differences in the COVID-19 Pandemic
Folakemi Odedina, PhD
Alyson McGregor, MD
Andrew Badley, MD
Diana Berrent
12:40 / 13:40 / 14:40 / 15:40 / 19:40 Q & A
Moderated by
Stacey Winham, PhD
Shannon Laughlin-Tommaso, MD
12:55 / 13:55 / 14:55 / 15:55 / 19:55 Break
Abstract Presentations (3-minute presentations + 2 minutes Q & A)
13:10 / 14:10 / 15:10 / 16:10 / 20:10 Covid-19 Gender Disparities and Mitigation Recommendations: A Narrative Review
Carol L. Kuhle, DO, MPH
13:15 / 14:15 / 15:15 / 16:15 / 20:15 Sex as an Independent Variable in the Measurement of Satiation
Maria Hurtado, MD
BIRCWH Scholar Presentations (15-minute presentation + 5 minutes Q & A)
13:20 / 14:20 / 15:20 / 16:20 / 20:20 Screening for PEripartum Cardiomyopathy using Artificial Intelligence (SPEC-AI)
Demilade Adedinsewo MD
13:40 / 14:40 / 15:40 / 16:40 / 20:40 Impact of Menopausal Status on Exercise Pressor Reflex Mechanisms: Implications for Blood Pressure Regulation
Joshua Smith, PhD
14:00 / 15:00 / 16:00 / 17:00 / 21:00 Adjourn
THURSDAY, OCTOBER 7, 2021
Women’s Health Research Symposium – Day 2
8:00 MST / 9:00 MDT / 10:00 CDT / 11:00 EDT / 15:00 GMT Welcome and Introductions
Stacey Winham, PhD
Shannon Laughlin-Tommaso, MD
8:10 / 9:10 / 10:10 / 11:10 / 15:10 Keynote
Hormones and Cardiovascular Disease and Transgender Health

Chrisandra Shufelt MD, MS
8:50 / 9:50 / 10:50 / 11:50 / 15:50 Q & A
Moderated by
Stacey Winham, PhD
Shannon Laughlin-Tommaso, MD
Abstract Presentations (3-minute presentations + 2 minutes Q & A)
9:00 / 10:00 / 11:00 / 12:00 / 16:00 Disruption in the PD-1/PDL1 axis at the maternal-fetal interface as a mechanism for fetal rejection responses in chronic villitis
Elizabeth Enninga, PhD
9:05 / 10:05 / 11:05 / 12:05 / 16:05 Higher systolic and diastolic blood pressures are associated with loss of white matter integrity in postmenopausal women of the KEEPS Continuation Study
Firat Kara, PhD
9:10 / 10:10 / 11:10 / 12:10 / 16:10 Genetic correlation between testosterone levels and alcohol dependence in females and males
Cameron Waller, PhD
SCORE Scholar Presentations (15-minute presentation + 5 minutes Q & A)
9:15 / 10:15 / 11:15 / 12:15 / 16:15 Rejuvenation of the Age- and Sex-dependent Inflammatory Brain Cell Landscape through p16-positive senescent cell targeting
Marissa Schafer, PhD
9:35 / 10:35 / 11:35 / 12:35 / 16:35 Pregnancy, Menopause and Progressive Multiple Sclerosis
Burcu Zeydan, MD
9:55 / 10:55 / 11:55 / 12:55 / 16:55 Break
10:15 / 11:15 / 12:15 / 13:15 / 17:35 Keynote
Health Disparities and Epigenetics

C. Neill Epperson, MD
11:15 / 12:15 / 13:15 / 14:15 / 18:15 Q & A
Moderated by
Stacey Winham, PhD
Shannon Laughlin-Tommaso, MD
11:30 / 12:30 / 13:30 / 14:30 / 18:30 Adjourn

 

Keynote Speakers

Responsive image

C. Neill Epperson, MD
University of Colorado School of Medicine
Aurora, CO

 

Responsive image

Alyson J. McGregor, MD, MA, FACEP
The Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University
Providence, RI

 

Responsive image

Chrisandra Shufelt MD, MS
Cedars-Sinai Medical Center
Los Angeles, CA

 

If you have additional registration questions, email imconference@mayo.edu.